FARMINGTON TALES


by PLAYACADEMY;  BIGFISH GAMES

Jud’s Game Rating:

Graphics **** Player participation (PP) ***** Satisfaction Factor (SF) ****

Frustration Factor (FF) **   Fair Play (FP) ****  Tedium Factor (TF) *

Another Renovation game from the Producers of CHRONICLES OF ALBION, and TALES OF LAGOONA, this game is weighted a little more on Hidden Object sites, in which 3 gems must also be found to unlock sites, produce and equipment.  There are also Quest items, requested by customers, that you need to accept and also mark as completed before you can gain the necessary coins.

It is rather slow in loading between scenes, and especially slow from the Main Menu.  Also some of the HOs are quite small which is aggravating, although they do pulse after a while to assist your search.  Another thing springing from this, is that you would be wise to take note of the extra task bar at the top of screen.  If you follow the instructions there – eg ‘collect 3 items in Alphatical Order’ – you gain extra coins.

However, it is more complex that at first glance.  At the bottom task bar are Marketing, Farming, and Blueprint tabs which access various crop seeds; animals and their feed storage and barns; and buildings and locations that require renovation.  Make sure that, as these are unlocked, you scroll sideways using the arrows, as there is more than just what is visible on screen.  It makes a huge difference to the speed of your monetary gain.  If you don’t you will struggle on wondering why it is taking so long to get enough money to renovate.

Tip: As you near the end, DO NOT get totally carried away with animal/sheds/ and feed purchases instead of renovating the last item under Blueprints.  If you do you will lose your market licence, won’t be able to sell your produce, and will be reduced to multiple HO sites to grind your way back into the funds.  This will turn your SF into FF.

These things apart, it is a fun game, that you can go to whenever you have a free half hour to fill.  But be warned – it is addictive!  I bought it.

Jud House  26/10/2012

* * * * *

About Jud House

I write reviews of Adventure and Hidden Object games that are Crime, Fantasy, SciFi, Renovation, Travel, Quest and/or Mystery by genre. I have a Masters in Writing (2006) and have been writing novels, both crime and fantasy for many years; plus Haiku, verse, and prose both fictional and literary. I am also an artist of modern hard edge work, underwater and fantasy paintings. Having both an analytical and creative mind has meant that I have strong powers of observation, and the persistence required to follow computer problems through till I solve them. Of course I am not always successful, but am willing to ask for a little help in order to then unlock the main problem myself. My Troubleshooting Blog, 'Problems and Solutions', was the result of my tenacity.
This entry was posted in FAMILY GAMES and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to FARMINGTON TALES

  1. Kerry says:

    I don’t suppose anyone knows where the mannequin is?

    • I can’t remember which site you are in, but the mannequin is an artist’s figure that looks like a small puppet without strings. Hope that’s a help. If not let me know which scene you are in and I will see if I can enter it, without having to play the whole game again to get there. lol I have just completed it and have soooo many other games to test and review that I never have enough time! Hope my review helped.

      • Kerry says:

        Hi, I found an drawing puppet in the Loft but it wasn’t accepting it as the Mannequin so I thought maybe someone else might have found something similar elsewhere. I noticed that sometimes I have quest items on my list but in some places it won’t accept the image/item in certain sites. For example when handcuffs are on the quest list it will not let you choose the handcuffs that is in the wheat patch. I’m not sure why :(. If you come accross it if you or anyone else plays again I would really like to know where the mannequin is. Thanks for responding :).

      • Hi Kerry, No you don’t collect the Quest items yourself – you collect them as part of the HO sites lists. You don’t get to pick them up as you see them. You just click on Accept the quest, then if there is a red exclamation mark next to one of them it usually means they are complete – or it will show that some are complete. You must then click on the Complete button to gain the coins. So if you were trying to collect the mannequin because you could see it and it wouldn’t let you – that is why. You have to wait till it goes on your HO site list of items!Sounds like gobbledigook but if you go back into the game, and click on quests, then explore the items in the quest list window, you should see what I mean.Hope that helps. Jud > Date: Mon, 29 Oct 2012 08:22:18 +0000 > To: judhouse@hotmail.com >

      • Kerry says:

        Thank you Jud. Yes that helps. :)

  2. compuchrisje says:

    Played the game in different ways: first upgrading buildings, leaving the crops at the lowest. Upgrading stables and animals. The farrest I got was until the three items of the quest left over. But never I got to any feather, and even no duct tape. They are just not in the game.
    As soon as you have upgraded the animal stables, you can forget playing further.
    You can say the Frustration factor is higher than 2…

    • I’ll revisit the game as soon as I have time and see if I can find the feather and duct tape for you. Check the BigFish Forum on the game sales page as well their general forums – you might find the answer there already. Have you played AQUASCAPES – you will enjoy that one – check out my Post on that game and give it a trial. I now am on my 19th fish tank/aquarium! Sounds extreme but isn’t really. Will get back to you soon.

    • Sorry it’s been a while since I played this game – I will go back through it asap and check these things for you. Jud

    • Do you remember which sites the duct tape and feather are supposed to be in? I might be able to short cut my search if I know which scene they are in. I’ll keep an eye on the comments page for your reply. Meanwhile I’ll plow on through the game.

Leave a Reply

