Crime and Hidden Object Games


CRIME/PUZZLES/HIDDEN OBJECTS/MYSTERIES/FANTASY/TROUBLESHOOTING

I have subtitled this website as reviews of crime and hidden object games, because that will be my prime focus here.  Other games of mixed genres which I call Oddities will be reviewed later.  Regular Updates will be made to each blog.

Most hidden object games have lists of hidden objects to find, some of which are in several pieces that must be assembled and/or used to find other objects; and some have the locating and using of individual objects in a similar way to CSI games, or variations on that theme.  Within some formats are those that focus on puzzle solving in Mini-games, like match 3 and jigsaw puzzles, that unlock the next level of the game.

I own a vast number of these crime, problem-solving and hidden object games, and there are many more that I have played for a free hour.  The storyline genres are varied within these games – some are fantasy, some crime, some taken from novels or featuring well-known characters, like Sherlock Holmes or Long John Silver.  Some are set on islands real and fictional, while others travel the world, or set-up/repair shop, home or garden.

The ones that are too dark or fuzzy in their graphics I reject despite the format or storyline.  The clarity of graphics is number one priority, coupled with the visibility and size of the objects, relaxed mode for those who don’t like timers shutting them down just as their goal is in sight, the logical stepping from level to level, and the user-friendliness of tools, inventories, and mouse, not to mention the MENU options and accessibility of the game.

If the game is too confusing I reject it, because confusion interferes with the main focus – that of finding the objects/clues and progressing through the game to an enjoyable and, dare I say it, smug conclusion. 

I call it the Satisfaction Factor.  J R R Tolkien called it Eucatastrophe – the burst of joy experienced by facing a happy ending.  And the solving of a puzzle is indeed a happy conclusion.

I believe that those game makers who make the graphics too dark, or too hazy with tricks of the light, and/or make the hidden pieces/objects so small that you need a magnifying glass to find them (unless of course they supply a magnifying glass for that purpose within the game tools), are just not playing fair with the game-player.  I have made the mistake of buying a few games in my early game-buying days that were of this type, but I am now very discerning.  I keep a book recording my observations about games that I have tried, while I await the online 50% sale so that I can afford to buy them, in order not to make the same mistake again.  Those that don’t measure up get deleted.

Problem and Solutions Blog

Over the years I have had assistance from Game Support Techs when installation or playing problems surfaced.  I have managed through perseverance to resolve most problems faced.  If people are interested I would like to share an experience of this sort, which exposed some game glitches that I hope will lead to new patches to rectify them.

Also by describing the steps I took to find my way through the problems, I may help some of you who are struggling with the very same problems, and feel at an impasse.  There are some things that cannot be fixed, things that can be used if you change the resolution for example each time you play it, and others that can be sorted out completely.  I hope I can help.

(C) Copyright Jud House  22/03/2011

* * * * *

About judsartwork

I write reviews of Adventure and Hidden Object games that are Crime, Fantasy, SciFi, Renovation, Travel, Quest and/or Mystery by genre. I have a Masters in Writing (2006) and have been writing novels, both crime and fantasy for many years; plus Haiku, verse, and prose both fictional and literary. I am also an artist of modern, Acrylic, textural and hard edge work, underwater, fantasy, expressionist, and Cosmos paintings. I use mixed media (Acrylic, Watercolour, Pastels) in textural Monoprints, finding surprises to expose within each work. Having both an analytical and creative mind has meant that I have strong powers of observation, and the persistence required to follow computer problems through till I solve them. Of course I am not always successful, but am willing to ask for a little help in order to then unlock the main problem myself. My Troubleshooting Blog, 'Problems and Solutions', was the result of my tenacity.
This entry was posted in CSI & NCIS GAMES and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

