INSIDER TALES – The Stolen Venus 2


by INTENIUM GAMES

Jud’s Game Rating:

Graphics: *****  Player participation (PP) *****  Satisfaction Factor (SF) *****

Frustration Factor (FF)  *

UPDATE:  12/6/2011

Well I finally bought the Game at the long awaited 50% off Sale.  I finished the Game today, and it lived up to all its promises!  It was excellent!  The story expanded as I progressed, and the tasks required became more complex.  But it was logical, although there were a few places where I seemed unable to move forward, despite knowing what was required – I just couldn’t make it happen.  But eventually I tried the blatantly obvious and away I went.

Tip: The main problem is when cooking the pizza.  You can’t move forward till you have done so.  You are given the approximate setting – take the lower given temperature number, then set the timer to 5 MINUTES on the clock – not 5 seconds!  If you put it any other number at the setting the pizza will burn.  If you go lower than the lowest suggested number the pizza won’t cook, no matter how long you put it in for.

I think the very best graphics were kept till last, on the island of Crete – gorgeous, animated, great audio and video, and brilliant clarity.  An improvement on THE STOLEN VENUS 1 Game – my recollection is that the graphics were fuzzy, which made the Game not worth buying.  I might check that when I have time – and if I am wrong I will do another Update.

Buy this Game, and enjoy it.  It’s an example of the mixture of Hidden Objects, Puzzles, and Interactive Gameplay that really works!  So many don’t.

* * * * *

This Game is great!  Has excellent graphics – clear, colourful, and multi-layered.  The locations are well thought out, authentic and realistic to the smallest detail, and easily negotiated.  The characters are good, and the storyline interesting but not intrusive although the controlling factor for progression through the Game.

There are of course the usual Mini games as part of the investigation, and these have been incorporated really well into the storyline, but can be skipped if they hold you up too long.  I had to skip a couple as I wanted to get as far as I could in the Game before time ran out, but otherwise I would have solved them and enjoyed doing so.

Also, apart from the point and click format for areas containing hidden objects, the picking up of various items to be used to open doors, mend fuse boxes, turn on fountains etc, was  required at each location.  In each hidden object site, at least one item went into Inventory to be used in these tasks.

After an hour of free play it is one that I would happily add to my ‘TO BUY’ list.

* * * * *

About judsartwork

I write reviews of Adventure and Hidden Object games that are Crime, Fantasy, SciFi, Renovation, Travel, Quest and/or Mystery by genre. I have a Masters in Writing (2006) and have been writing novels, both crime and fantasy for many years; plus Haiku, verse, and prose both fictional and literary. I am also an artist of modern, Acrylic, textural and hard edge work, underwater, fantasy, expressionist, and Cosmos paintings. I use mixed media (Acrylic, Watercolour, Pastels) in textural Monoprints, finding surprises to expose within each work. Having both an analytical and creative mind has meant that I have strong powers of observation, and the persistence required to follow computer problems through till I solve them. Of course I am not always successful, but am willing to ask for a little help in order to then unlock the main problem myself. My Troubleshooting Blog, 'Problems and Solutions', was the result of my tenacity.
This entry was posted in CRIME & MYSTERY, UPDATE and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

