HAUNTED MANOR – QUEEN OF DEATH Collector’s Edition


by TE TOP EVIDENCE STUDIO; BIGFISH GAMES

Jud’s Game Rating:

Graphics ***** Player participation (PP) ***** Satisfaction Factor (SF) *****

Frustration Factor (FF) *   Fair Play (FP) ****  Tedium Factor Nil

EXCELLENT!

Bearing in mind that I have only played the Free Trial Hour so far, like its predecessor, HAUNTED MANOR – LORD OF MIRRORS, this game is immediately intriguing and totally involving – full on PP, little FF (only due to not being able to do things out of order), high SF so far, and great Graphics.  I like the fact that the Name set-up is simple, you choose your level of difficulty, and the music is classical and suitable for the genre.  The storyline is creepy, macabre and mysterious, integrated into the game like LORD OF MIRRORS.

There is quite a lot of going back and forth, which gets just a smidge tedious as it does in most games.  The Graphics are clear, colourful, fantastically authentic, and moodily atmospheric in places while not interfering with the search ability.  The occasional Hidden Object sites are clear, but somewhat difficult.  The Puzzles are also unusual – something the game designers seem to compete over – who can produce the most unusual puzzles – and quite difficult at times.  I particularly like the maze puzzle.

I would class this game as an Adventure /Hidden Object game and highly recommend it.  It is already on my ‘To Buy’ list.

(C) Copyright Jud House 14/12/2011

* * * * *

About judsartwork

I write reviews of Adventure and Hidden Object games that are Crime, Fantasy, SciFi, Renovation, Travel, Quest and/or Mystery by genre. I have a Masters in Writing (2006) and have been writing novels, both crime and fantasy for many years; plus Haiku, verse, and prose both fictional and literary. I am also an artist of modern, Acrylic, textural and hard edge work, underwater, fantasy, expressionist, and Cosmos paintings. I use mixed media (Acrylic, Watercolour, Pastels) in textural Monoprints, finding surprises to expose within each work. Having both an analytical and creative mind has meant that I have strong powers of observation, and the persistence required to follow computer problems through till I solve them. Of course I am not always successful, but am willing to ask for a little help in order to then unlock the main problem myself. My Troubleshooting Blog, 'Problems and Solutions', was the result of my tenacity.
This entry was posted in FANTASY, SPOOKY GAMES and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

