Even Lots More Games I’ve Rejected


Jud’s Game Rating:  Graphics, Player participation (PP),  Satisfaction Factor (SF), Frustration Factor (FF),  Fair Play (FP), Tedium Factor (TF)

In a continuing attempt to show a balanced view of the Games that I have been trying out for this site, I thought it was time to Update my comments on Games that I have rejected as not worth buying – rather than only commenting on those I think are excellent.  I realise that this continues to be subjective, but my reasons are valid and consistent with my previously expressed views about what makes a good and fair game to play – see  Crime and Hidden Object GamesPC Game Providers, Programmers and Technicians, and Use of Hints, Walkthroughs & Skip, PRODUCERS PUTTING OFF POTENTIAL PURCHASERS!.  After all these Games I have rejected are competing with hundreds, possibly thousands, of other Games for Players’ attention and cash – a fact that I am rapidly finding out, as I discover more and more Games I wish I could buy.  I won’t go into huge details about each game, but will just comment on why I have rejected them.

THE SCRUFFS – RETURN OF THE DUKE

by SWEET TOOTH GAMES

As I already own THE SCRUFFS first game, I expected this to be a fun quirky game – I was disappointed.  Although this game has relatively clear graphics, they are marred by light shafts, especially in the Hidden Object sites.  I got really sick of peering through the blur, got bored, and Deleted the game.  It might be fun for the kids, but I think they will get sick of not being able to see properly too.

LOST LAGOON 3 – THE TRAIL OF DESTINY

by INTENIUM

This game had Graphics that were not very clear – Items were blurred, or opaque, or transparent, or tiny – I consider this grossly Unfair Play tactics.  Totally uncalled for.  there were a few good features to the game but these were over-ridden by the fact that you couldn’t SEE the game.

LOST LAGOON 2 – CURSED AND FORGOTTEN

by INTENIUM

This later sequel warranted a few more notes but ended with the same Deletion.  there were Casual and Expert Modes of Play; both Lists and Silhouettes of Hidden Objects which is good; but despite the Sparkling of HO Sites and Active Sites the Game was slow going and directionless.  The Graphics could be clearer, and the Puzzles need and take time to complete.  Once again the HOs were tiny causing eye strain and tedium!

BLOOD AND RUBY

by NIT POINT STUDIOS 

I had mixed feelings about this one.  The Options was good – you could adjust the brightness which is always a good thing.  The Graphics were great in some scenes and terrible in others re their clarity.  The story was good, but not enough Help – it needs a notebook.  It’s great to have a Map, but that is not much use if you don’t know what comes next!  One good feature was the Mouse-over Cross X  that showed where not to go.

CREEPY TALES – LOST IN VASEL LAND

by RED DOT CORP LTD

I obviously didn’t like this much at all as the notes are few.  There were not enough Game-Play instructions; the Graphics were not clear; the Hidden Objects were too small (in scale with the scenes but thus rendered tiny); and if you Skipped a Puzzle because they were too difficult or too tedious then the Hint was locked for 5 minutes!  Not well designed, and not user-friendly!

BEDTIME STORIES – THE LOST DREAMS

by ABSOLUTIST

Although this game has a Regular and Expert Modes of play, that didn’t seem to help.  I was not impressed!  There was no voice-over for the opening, and it was plagued with the usual hazy Graphics tricks.  The Tutorial was okay.  Nothing worked well.  Hint only worked for Items and not as a Help – there was no real Help.  I couldn’t be bothered wasting time trying to find useful Active Spots, so Deleted the game.  FF to the max!

CHRONICLES OF MYSTERY – TREE OF LIFE

by CITY INTERACTIVE

Usually such good game from this Designer.  Great Options with complex Sound and Graphics settings to adjust.  The characters are 3D CG who speak and move well.  You choose the Dialogue in your own order which is also great PP.  But there is not enough direction for the use of tools – eg I could find the combination but couldn’t make the locks react when it was applied.  It was FF to the max!  So disappointing to have to Delete it.

Jud House  2/08/2012

* * * * *

About judsartwork

I write reviews of Adventure and Hidden Object games that are Crime, Fantasy, SciFi, Renovation, Travel, Quest and/or Mystery by genre. I have a Masters in Writing (2006) and have been writing novels, both crime and fantasy for many years; plus Haiku, verse, and prose both fictional and literary. I am also an artist of modern, Acrylic, textural and hard edge work, underwater, fantasy, expressionist, and Cosmos paintings. I use mixed media (Acrylic, Watercolour, Pastels) in textural Monoprints, finding surprises to expose within each work. Having both an analytical and creative mind has meant that I have strong powers of observation, and the persistence required to follow computer problems through till I solve them. Of course I am not always successful, but am willing to ask for a little help in order to then unlock the main problem myself. My Troubleshooting Blog, 'Problems and Solutions', was the result of my tenacity.
This entry was posted in REJECTED GAMES and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

