LIVING LEGENDS – ICE ROSE Collector’s Edition


by 4 FRIENDS GAMES STUDIOS; BIGFISH GAMES

Jud’s Game Rating:

Graphics: ****  Player participation (PP) ****  Satisfaction Factor (SF) ****

Frustration Factor (FF)  **     Fair Play (FP) ** Tedium Factor Nil

This is an excellent game.  However the Graphics could be clearer – the atmospherics get in the way a bit, but on the whole they are fairly clear so don’t impede play too much. Despite some reservations about  the game, I thought that the concept, the characters, the imaginative realism of the colourful imagery, and the ongoing fantasy narrative were enjoyable enough to make me buy the game.

I would like to know why the game is called LIVING LEGENDS – it has no relevance to the game at all.  ICE ROSE is of course perfect for it.  I realised when I finished the game plus the Extra Game that there is a sequel coming soon, called I think FROZEN BEAUTY, so I guess they needed an extra title to link the series – but the chosen one is pointless.

There are Casual, Advanced and Expert Modes of Play, the usual Options, and quite a few assets within the Extras menu.  For the Collector’s Edition the Strategy Guide is at the bottom of the screen and accessible at all times during play.  I needed to resort to it a few times for odd things, but was then able to carry on okay for a while.

Some  of the Puzzles are great, some are a pain – I particularly disliked the rotating picture blocks – so annoying I had to Skip them at first opportunity.  And I really hate that the Designers feel the need to play the part of Fun Police by punishing the Gamer for overclicking – it’s unnecessary, and insulting – we are quite capable of deciding how we play the game and can police ourselves!

Now I would like to raise the issue of the Collector’s Edition again.  I really think in this case particularly that the additional gameplay/narrative that is in the Coll Ed should be part of the original game.  When that is finished it isn’t really completed, and this is obvious to the Gamer.  We are left feeling dissatisfied as we realise we have done all we can up to a point.  Having the Extra Play means we can actually complete this narrative, though we are left with a teaser for the game to come.  But those who have only bought the Standard Game will definitely feel robbed.  And when they buy the next in the series, how will it’s opening and relevance make sense?  They don’t know the intervening piece of story.  Why should we have to pay more for this extra part of the story – that is, this removed story chapter?  This is NOT FAIR PLAY.

I DO recommend this game but suggest if you can manage it that you buy the Coll Ed so that you have the link to the next if you wish.  Try the free trial first.

(C)  Copyright  Jud House  6/04/2012

* * * * *

About judsartwork

I write reviews of Adventure and Hidden Object games that are Crime, Fantasy, SciFi, Renovation, Travel, Quest and/or Mystery by genre. I have a Masters in Writing (2006) and have been writing novels, both crime and fantasy for many years; plus Haiku, verse, and prose both fictional and literary. I am also an artist of modern, Acrylic, textural and hard edge work, underwater, fantasy, expressionist, and Cosmos paintings. I use mixed media (Acrylic, Watercolour, Pastels) in textural Monoprints, finding surprises to expose within each work. Having both an analytical and creative mind has meant that I have strong powers of observation, and the persistence required to follow computer problems through till I solve them. Of course I am not always successful, but am willing to ask for a little help in order to then unlock the main problem myself. My Troubleshooting Blog, 'Problems and Solutions', was the result of my tenacity.
This entry was posted in FANTASY, STORY-BOOK GAMES and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to LIVING LEGENDS – ICE ROSE Collector’s Edition

  1. I was going to buy the game, but my computer crashed and I didn’t feel like downloading it all over again. Still, it does sound like fun.

    • The good thing about BigFish is that their downloads are quick and efficient. You download the free trial and then when you buy it you click on download full version to unlock it and get the rest of the game. So far they are the most efficient that I have found – I have used GameHouse and SpinTop. GH are quite slow with their downloads, and ST have been taken over. BF quite user friendly with their Home page plus drop-downs, and their Membership deals are also good, though I dislike the fact that as an Aussie with our $AU being worth more than the $USA I think that they should have adjusted the rate accordingly and made the games cheaper for us. Check them out and let me know what you think.

      • I’ve been using big fish games for quite a while, and I love it. Right now, I’m trying to save money, so I think I’ll hold off on new purchases for a while.

Leave a Reply

