SURFACE – MYSTERY OF ANOTHER WORLD Collector’s Edition


by ELEPHANT GAMES; BIG FISH GAMES

Jud’s Game Rating:

Graphics: *****  Player participation (PP) *****  Satisfaction Factor (SF) *****

Frustration Factor (FF) *   Fair Play (FP) ****   Tedium Factor (TF) *

FANTASTIC!

What a monumental game!  Epic is the word.  I wish I had bought it sooner, rather than leaving it so long on my To Buy screen corner. My notes for it hadn’t been negative at all, but weren’t copious either – this happens if the game is good and I play on avidly not taking time out to annotate.  I said “Good game – didn’t want my time to run out – draws you in, as it should, and only reveals bits of info at a time”.  I bought it yesterday, played it through, stopping only for food and sleep, and was so impressed!

After your son, Bobby, mysteriously disappears, it’s up to you to find him in Surface: The Mystery of Another World! A peaceful train ride to the coast goes way off course and now strange occurrences are happening all around you! It seems that there is another world just past your reflection.    BigFish Sales Blurb

The Main Game is really long and complex, and so you would think that maybe you wouldn’t get much change out of the Extra Game Play but you would be wrong.  Although obviously not as long as the Main one the Extra Play is also long and complex.  This game has a great Options menu, a crowded Bonus Content menu, an efficient and helpful Tutorial, and Casual, Advanced and Hardcore playing Modes.

I really like ELEPHANT GAMES.  This one is so well-constructed, mechanically and visually, with excellent music and voice-actor choices, gorgeous colourful fantastic clear graphics, and a storyline that places you between Fantasy and SciFi.  I like the way that in the Hidden Object sites the HOs are overlayed so that you reveal some as you remove others.  I like the way that you use items, that you have found or unlocked elsewhere, on some items within the HO sites to complete them and release further items.  And in one of the levels I love the innovative way that instead of the elevator acting as elevators do – by going up and down between floors – the floors, as you unlock them, come to you.  The walls of the current floor move out and away, and are replaced by those of the desired floor.  So cool!

Don’t be put off by the initial confusion as you work out what is required, and how you need to proceed – you will soon want to see where it goes; you won’t want to Exit but will want to keep going till you have solved it.  Some of the Puzzles are great, while others are more difficult or tedious – but you can Skip the ones you don’t like.  And don’t forget to collect the Flower from every site, as these unlock a few mini games.

I found that the Strategy Guide was really helpful, but a Map might have been more use as a guide as often that’s all you need.  Something to remind you where the collected items are needed, as this becomes harder to remember as the game progresses.  No doubt the notes at the side probably help there, but I kept forgetting to look at those.

I highly recommend this game.  You won’t know how good it is just by playing the free hour, so if you quite like it during  that time, you will be rapt with the whole game.

Jud House  17/07/2012

* * * * *

About judsartwork

I write reviews of Adventure and Hidden Object games that are Crime, Fantasy, SciFi, Renovation, Travel, Quest and/or Mystery by genre. I have a Masters in Writing (2006) and have been writing novels, both crime and fantasy for many years; plus Haiku, verse, and prose both fictional and literary. I am also an artist of modern, Acrylic, textural and hard edge work, underwater, fantasy, expressionist, and Cosmos paintings. I use mixed media (Acrylic, Watercolour, Pastels) in textural Monoprints, finding surprises to expose within each work. Having both an analytical and creative mind has meant that I have strong powers of observation, and the persistence required to follow computer problems through till I solve them. Of course I am not always successful, but am willing to ask for a little help in order to then unlock the main problem myself. My Troubleshooting Blog, 'Problems and Solutions', was the result of my tenacity.
This entry was posted in FANTASY, SCI-FI and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to SURFACE – MYSTERY OF ANOTHER WORLD Collector’s Edition

  1. Pingback: Mystery Case Files: Ravenhearst Review | brouhaha-access

Leave a Reply

