GOTHIC FICTION – DARK SAGA Collector’s Edition


by ERS GAME STUDIOS; BIGFISH GAMES

Jud’s Game Rating:

Graphics ***** Player participation (PP) ***** Satisfaction Factor (SF) *****

Frustration Factor (FF) *   Fair Play (FP) ****  Tedium Factor (TF) *

BRILLIANT

Rescue your daughter and escape a cursed school in Gothic Fiction: Dark Saga! After moving to a small town in rural England, you and your daughter, Hannah, head out to visit a local school. But the brochure didn’t mention anything about the ancient evil lurking there, waiting for one last soul to complete her insidious plan. Can you rescue Hannah before she becomes part of the school’s terrible legacy? (BigFish Sales Blurb)

This macabre, scary, fantasy Adventure/Puzzle game is great!  The glorious grandiose Graphics could be a wee bit clearer in places, but maybe they are on a smaller screen (nit-picking here).  They are imaginatively conceived, colourfully depicted, superbly designed, and visually stimulating.  The game-play as you can see is highly PP, with the only flaw being that there is a tremendous amount of b & f (back and forth) clicking which can become a little tedious, not to mention RSI provoking.

The Main Menu is Cool!  The Cursor is Cool!  The Options are good, with Casual, Advanced, and Hardcore choices of play.  The Strategy Guide is available on the game screen task bar, and if you resort to it, is fairly helpful while making you still do some of the work.  The Puzzles are on the whole interesting, enjoyable, and playable; but there are a few that are very difficult/tedious that I deemed not worth pursuing and Skipped as soon as I could.  Another huge plus is that the game is long – it doesn’t rush you through the quest and tasks to a quick conclusion.  You feel like you are getting your money’s worth with both Standard and Collector’s Edition versions.

The story is complex, the game-play is complex, and the game itself is thoroughly addictive.  The narrative in which you are participating compels you to continue to play long after you should have Exited and gone to bed.  At 1.36am as I completed the Main Game, I forced myself to close the game and the computer and take the cat to bed.  Next morning, after my usual routine, which I rigidly stuck to, I allowed myself to play the Bonus Game which proved to be equally complex and lengthy.

I highly recommend this game, in either versions.

Jud House  29/11/2012

* * * * *

About judsartwork

I write reviews of Adventure and Hidden Object games that are Crime, Fantasy, SciFi, Renovation, Travel, Quest and/or Mystery by genre. I have a Masters in Writing (2006) and have been writing novels, both crime and fantasy for many years; plus Haiku, verse, and prose both fictional and literary. I am also an artist of modern, Acrylic, textural and hard edge work, underwater, fantasy, expressionist, and Cosmos paintings. I use mixed media (Acrylic, Watercolour, Pastels) in textural Monoprints, finding surprises to expose within each work. Having both an analytical and creative mind has meant that I have strong powers of observation, and the persistence required to follow computer problems through till I solve them. Of course I am not always successful, but am willing to ask for a little help in order to then unlock the main problem myself. My Troubleshooting Blog, 'Problems and Solutions', was the result of my tenacity.
This entry was posted in FANTASY, STORY-BOOK GAMES and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

