THE SECRET ORDER – MASKED INTENT Collector’s Edition


by SUNWARD GAMES; BIGFISH GAMES

Jud’s Game Rating:

Graphics ***** Player participation (PP) ***** Satisfaction Factor (SF) ****

Frustration Factor (FF) * Fair Play (FP) **** Tedium Factor (TF) Nil

WOW!!!

Sarah receives shocking news from her father. One of the newest members in the Order of the Griffins has turned traitor, murdering one of the Secret Five, the heads of the Order. What’s worse is that very traitor is about to join the Secret Five, and he’s wearing a mask that gives him supernatural abilities. Sarah has to race back through time and search for the one artifact that can subdue the mask: a magical scepter. Hop aboard the Royal Griffin and help Sarah unmask the traitor before he destroys the Order in The Secret Order: Masked Intent, an exhilarating Hidden Object Puzzle Adventure Game. (BigFish Sales Blurb)

What a fantastic game!  I was so engrossed at all three sittings it took to complete, that I didn’t make many notes.  So having just finished it I’ll ‘wing it’.  I noted that there were Casual/Advanced/Expert Difficulty Modes; that the Hidden Object sites are fairly clear though some of the HOs are small; that you can either play the HO mode or the MahJong mode – I tried both, then by the second sitting had forgotten about the MahJong mode which by the way unlocks each of the HOs as you play; the Map is interactive, showing your position, the active spots, and lets you jump to the next one you want; and the Journal shows you your Objectives plus the Story and important details as you progress.  I should have had a quick read before I continued with the game after a couple of days break, as it would have reoriented me quicker, but not to worry.  I managed anyway.

Now the really neat thing about this game is the way you jump in time through a portal in order to search for Nathan.  The when you are settled into that time slot you suddenly find yourself diverted to the BONUS CHAPTER: THE CURSED ISLAND where you seek out part of the sceptre.  You then are whizzed back to the present in order to complete your task in the Main Game.  It’s cool!  In other words the BONUS CONTENT of the Collector’s Edition is incorporated into the game.  It’s not an extra chapter stuck on the end that Standard Game players don’t have access to.  I wonder how they get around the missing bits of the sceptre.  Hmmmm.  May I suggest that for this game you really do buy the Collector’s Edition?!

Finally I want to say that I was disappointed with the way it ended.  Why must the game designers finish their games off with a flash, leaving you hanging there thinking “Hang on , did I miss something?”  It was so rushed, a couple of ambiguous photos of the heroes and villain shaking hands, and The End.  Weird.  Not very satisfying.  Especially as the entire game is long, involved, comprehensive, fantastic, imaginative, colourful, clever, enjoyable, and addictive!

I highly recommend it, and obviously bought it at once.

Jud House  24/04/2013

* * * * *

About judsartwork

I write reviews of Adventure and Hidden Object games that are Crime, Fantasy, SciFi, Renovation, Travel, Quest and/or Mystery by genre. I have a Masters in Writing (2006) and have been writing novels, both crime and fantasy for many years; plus Haiku, verse, and prose both fictional and literary. I am also an artist of modern, Acrylic, textural and hard edge work, underwater, fantasy, expressionist, and Cosmos paintings. I use mixed media (Acrylic, Watercolour, Pastels) in textural Monoprints, finding surprises to expose within each work. Having both an analytical and creative mind has meant that I have strong powers of observation, and the persistence required to follow computer problems through till I solve them. Of course I am not always successful, but am willing to ask for a little help in order to then unlock the main problem myself. My Troubleshooting Blog, 'Problems and Solutions', was the result of my tenacity.
This entry was posted in ADVENTURE, FANTASY and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

