CHRONICLES OF VIDA: THE STORY OF THE MISSING PRINCESS


by NOVOPLAYBIGFISH GAMES

Jud’s Game Rating:

Graphics *** Player participation (PP) **** Satisfaction Factor (SF) ***

Frustration Factor (FF) ** Fair Play (FP) ** Tedium Factor (TF) *

ANOTHER GOOD GAME SPOILED!

Join the beautiful demon-huntress, Vida, on her investigation into a series of mysterious kidnappings in Chronicles of Vida: The Story of the Missing Princess! Travelling across the Victorian countryside with her wereferret friend Black, Vida hunts for evil spirits. Her mission is to save the world from the creatures of Shadow, but she has encountered a new challenge. Vida must find a missing princess. Join Vida in her battles with vampires and werewolves in this thrilling Hidden Object Puzzle Adventure! (BigFish Sales Blurb)

That’s two ruined games in one day.  When this game opened I thought – Wow – how cool – choose your own light level in your screen – followed by a page of Tutorial notes so you didn’t have to go through the actual Tute play.  I set my name/profile, checked Options and turned down the Music and noticed that I could readjust the light there any time I wanted to, and hit PLAY.

Then the rot set in.  The gorgeous imaginative graphics were totally hidden behind masses of atmospherics.  This continued from scene to scene.  The characters were a bit weird and their voices annoying – I was tempted to Mute them but didn’t.  And the Ferret that was supposed to be helpful, wasn’t – he spent his time telling me to let him think.  Hints were okay and needed for the final HOs in each HO site to keep the FF levels under control.

When the Free Hour Trial was up, shutting down, and back to my Desktop, the altered Light/Brightness was permanent.  I tried to reset it on the screen but to no avail.  I had to shut all the programs that were open and Shut Down the computer.  I have just turned it on again and thankfully the screen seems to be back to normal – sort-of.  But that is not a helpful attribute for a game to have – reset the light within the game by all means, but don’t change the internal settings of the computer.

Needless to say, I will not be buying this so promising and so disappointing game after all.  And I won’t be recommending it either.

Jud House  22/05/2013

* * * * *

About judsartwork

I write reviews of Adventure and Hidden Object games that are Crime, Fantasy, SciFi, Renovation, Travel, Quest and/or Mystery by genre. I have a Masters in Writing (2006) and have been writing novels, both crime and fantasy for many years; plus Haiku, verse, and prose both fictional and literary. I am also an artist of modern, Acrylic, textural and hard edge work, underwater, fantasy, expressionist, and Cosmos paintings. I use mixed media (Acrylic, Watercolour, Pastels) in textural Monoprints, finding surprises to expose within each work. Having both an analytical and creative mind has meant that I have strong powers of observation, and the persistence required to follow computer problems through till I solve them. Of course I am not always successful, but am willing to ask for a little help in order to then unlock the main problem myself. My Troubleshooting Blog, 'Problems and Solutions', was the result of my tenacity.
This entry was posted in REJECTED GAMES and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

