WHO REMEMBERS MYST & RIVEN??


by SUN SOFT GAMES; CYAN; BIGFISH GAMES

Jud’s Game Rating:

Graphics ***** Player participation (PP) ***** Satisfaction Factor (SF) *****

Frustration Factor (FF) ** Fair Play (FP) **** Tedium Factor (TF) Nil

LOOKING REALLY PROMISING!

Experience the world of RealMYST in 3D! Solve perplexing puzzles and return to one of the most popular PC games of all time! Swaying trees and independently roaming animals add life to the formerly static Myst worlds. The RealMYST game includes the complete original Myst game, along with an all-new fifth age, called the Rime Age, which provides a complete ending to the original mystery. (BigFish Sales Blurb)

Recently I tried to download my old box set of MYST and RIVEN – well the Master disk – onto my PC Windows 7 Laptop. It did so more or less okay, except the sound track was massively distorted. The Graphics were the same, but of course so basic 3D CG that it reminded me just how far we have come since then, Graphically speaking.

I tried to play it, but it was rather frustrating due to the jerky ‘mouse’ action, and of course the lack of guidance, and no Tools on-screen to help. You are ‘flying blind’ and I gave up fairly quickly. I Uninstalled the game and sadly put the boxed set back into my Games File-Box, telling myself that maybe I could get round to trying it some time on one of my old computers. But I really didn’t believe it.

The next day, while at a nearby shopping complex, I asked a young guy in an EB Games store if he remembered the game(s) and if he had heard anything about them lately. He had heard of them, and checked on his screen to see if they had any news of them in-store. Unfortunately, he drew a blank. After some discussion about the game series, and how ground breaking it had been, I mentioned that it was incredible that no-one had thought to re-master the game as it had become rather a Cult game after it was released.

We then discussed a few games that were a little similar – the SCROLL series – but they were a little too RPG for me. I am not interested in the scoring, the using of power-ups, the creation of characters, the gaining of tools and weapons etc. I just like a game where the story is intriguing and interesting, and most of all integrated into the game-play – driving the game forward and crucial to your choices. I like a game with brilliant graphics that are clear so you don’t get eye-strain from peering far too closely at the screen. I like the graphics to be imaginative – like the story – and suitable to the story, with Hidden Objects (if any) that suit the game, and best of all are scattered around the locations so you can seek them out and use them. In other words I prefer games that lie on the Adventure side rather than the Hidden Object side of the genre.

When I got home and fired up the computers, I checked out BigFish Games as usual to see if there were any other games I could download to use my stack of Free Game Coupons on. (I have used other game suppliers, but have found that BigFish suit me best – I like their download process, their purchasing process is clear and easy aka user-friendly, they have lots of specials on, at least one a month, – and no they are not paying me anything for saying so – and I really like their Support team with whom I discuss many minor problems, glitches in games, and in my computer.

Anyway as I scrolled down the list of Adventure games there was this one called ‘realMYST‘! When I opened the Sales page and saw the 3 game images I knew it was MYST! It was a re-mastered version of the original, with I think, ALL the games included. And I could get it for the price – or in my case the free coupon – of a Standard game! Yippeeee!! Yahoooooo! I did a ‘lil Grinch dance’, then downloaded it immediately.

When I opened it, after a lengthy download, I was immediately in this game that told me little, but the graphics this time were so much better than before – yet the same. In other words they haven’t altered the terrain, the rolling ocean, the buildings, the trees etc, they have just made them a little more real.

I was so impressed. If you put the games side by side on separate screens you would see the difference, but as you play you are not aware that anything much has changed. This is fantastic. Of course I am still floundering around as I did the first time I played it I don’t know how long ago – 10 years, 15 years – how old is it??? I do know what an incredible game it was then. It was one of a kind. Look how far we have come, both in Graphics and game-play.

If you are interested in playing this game for the first time – or in revisiting it in a format that will play on Windows 7 and probably Windows 8 – then do yourselves a favour and visit BigFish Games. Don’t forget, the game is called ‘realMYST‘ in their Adventure games and probably Hidden Object games lists.

Also I suggest that you go to the following link for UHS HINTS which I recommend you save to Favourites:

http://www.uhs-hints.com/uhsweb/hints/myst/1.php

 They give ‘not the usual walkthroughs’ that allow you to get information in little steps so you can stop as soon as you are back on track. They are very good for many games so check them out. You will also find their main link in LINKS in my sidebar. BigFish also give FREE Walkthroughs for many games, separate from the Strategy Guides that you have to purchase – and I just checked – they have one for  realMYST.

I will settle down and write a large blog – like the CSI ones – as I replay these games – time permitting. I might slowing down my Mouse Speed in my computer settings before I re-open the game, as the panning action is a little fast and feels a little out of control. I’ll let you know if it helps. I might also see if Windows 7 Troubleshooting in Control Panel earmarks the game as one for ‘resetting as an earlier version’ game. But I may not do so if it does, unless the game becomes unplayable or too irritating.

PS: Google MYST Game, click Images, and scroll through to see how good the game is looking now.  Here is the link to the exact Google page if you prefer.
http://www.google.com.au/search?gs_rn=18&gs_ri=psy-ab&cp=6&gs_id=n&xhr=t&q=myst+game&bav=on.2,or.r_qf.&bvm=bv.48572450,d.aGc&biw=1422&bih=713&um=1&ie=UTF-8&hl=en&tbm=isch&source=og&sa=N&tab=wi&ei=JbzOUY74DYe4iAfz_IHAAQ

I still highly recommend this game.

Jud House 29/06/2013
* * * * *

About judsartwork

I write reviews of Adventure and Hidden Object games that are Crime, Fantasy, SciFi, Renovation, Travel, Quest and/or Mystery by genre. I have a Masters in Writing (2006) and have been writing novels, both crime and fantasy for many years; plus Haiku, verse, and prose both fictional and literary. I am also an artist of modern, Acrylic, textural and hard edge work, underwater, fantasy, expressionist, and Cosmos paintings. I use mixed media (Acrylic, Watercolour, Pastels) in textural Monoprints, finding surprises to expose within each work. Having both an analytical and creative mind has meant that I have strong powers of observation, and the persistence required to follow computer problems through till I solve them. Of course I am not always successful, but am willing to ask for a little help in order to then unlock the main problem myself. My Troubleshooting Blog, 'Problems and Solutions', was the result of my tenacity.
This entry was posted in FANTASY, JUD'S VIEWS & TROUBLESHOOTING, SCI-FI and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to WHO REMEMBERS MYST & RIVEN??

  1. Sarca says:

    Hey, Jud.
    Loved this blogpost on your MYST experience! And by the way, loving UHS Hints page. My husband and I are using it for Riven. 🙂

Leave a Reply

