NATURAL THREAT 1& 2


by  ALAWAR; BUTTERFLY iSOFT; BIGFISH GAMES

NATURAL THREAT: OMINOUS SHORES

Jud’s Game Rating:

Graphics                                           ****          😀
Player participation (PP)         ***             🙂
Satisfaction Factor (SF)            ***             🙂
Frustration Factor (FF)            **               :I
Fair Play (FP)                                ***             🙂
Tedium Factor (TF)                  
  *                😀

Use your powers of observation to save your friends from the genetic aberrations that populate a forgotten island… Brave the escalating threat that unfolds before you and save your companions! Each scene will bring new challenges, horrifying discoveries, and clues to what brought the monsters that populate the island to life. Be smart, and you might survive long enough to make the most shocking discovery of all in Natural Threat: Ominous Shores! (BigFish Sales Blurb)

I’m including this Game because I hve a few notes on it, but can’t replay it without buying it, as it isn’t available on Mac yet, and my PC Trial period is over.  If that changes I will Update this Post.

Notes: Casual/Expert Difficulty Modes.  Hazy opening Graphics.  Graphics clever, artful, but could be clearer.  You play in the prologue of the Story, then Skip 50 years to the next part.  It becomes more interesting as you go.  hard to replace Items into Inventory.

As I made few notes about the game-play I imagine that it is similar to that of NATURAL THREAT 2 reviewed more thoroughly below this one.

NATURAL THREAT 2

Jud’s Game Rating:

Graphics                                          *****         😀
Player participation (PP)         ****            🙂
Satisfaction Factor (SF)           ****            🙂
Frustration Factor (FF)            **                :I
Fair Play (FP)                                ***              🙂
Tedium Factor (TF)                   *                  :I

Giant mutated plants have sprung up across the city, wreaking havoc and devouring the population. Prepare for exciting hidden object sequences, challenging mini-games, and a riveting story of heroism and survival! Do you have what it takes to be the hero and save her from the wickedness circling you? It’s time to save the day in Natural Threat 2! (BigFish Sales Blurb)

This game with its Basic Options, its Casual/Expert Difficulty Modes, and its Journal, has no Map (well not in my version though I found mention of one in a Forum) which is FF.  You have to traverse the game area from site to site, back and forth which gets tiring, despite the visually gorgeous Graphics.  Both environmental and character depictions are ingeniously portrayed, the world you are in seems threatening, yet authentic.  It is imaginative, colourful and clever.

Almost immediately you are in the midst of a gripping story – the opening seems not be to be promising, but becomes increasingly better till you are hooked.  The need to keep moving on solving issues, repairing machinery, replacing missing knobs and locks and so on, feels urgent.  Some of the characters you find are already dead, but others, who are still alive though incapacitated, can be rescued and/or patched up with bandages or medication or both.

The Cursor however, is a little too small – a tiny hand that is so easily missed as you move around a site looking for hot-spots, in order to collect items.  The Hidden Objects are well hidden, and once you have applied a tool to an area – like a screwdriver to a panel – it automatically takes the required action.  This gives you a little less PP.  Another irritation is that the Back-out Arrow is too close to the Inventory Bar, tending to open it when you just want to exit the scene.  Very FF after a while.

But finally there is a major issue with this game.  I was almost finished it, when the Hints stopped working for me.  Everything else was still working, so the game hadn’t frozen, but the Hints wouldn’t respond.  Then I couldn’t go any further as I was missing an Item.  I went back looking for it to no avail.  So I looked for a Walkthrough but none were available except for one on U-Tube.  I went to the relevant area, and saw that the Item in question – a Glass Cutter – suddenly appeared in the Inventory Bar from one ‘shot’ to the next.  I scroll really slowly, back and forth, but at no time could I see how it was collected – one minute it wasn’t in the Inventory, the next there it was.  The Walkthrough continued, used the Glass Cutter, gained the needed Item then used it to progress to the end.  Baffling!

I have contacted my Game provider, BigFish Games, and they immediately assumed something was wrong with my computer.  I have replied informing them again that there is a glitch in the game, and that others in the GameHouse Forums have all experienced the same dramas.  I am awaiting their assistance.  I asked that they contact Alawar and Butterfly iSoft to see if they can assist – but I am not very hopeful.

I will let you all know via an Update as soon as I get the problem solved.  If any of you out there are experiencing the same thing, or have a solution to this problem, please Comment on this Post, and I will reblog it in an Update.  Thanks.

Jud House  8/10/2013

* * * * *

About judsartwork

I write reviews of Adventure and Hidden Object games that are Crime, Fantasy, SciFi, Renovation, Travel, Quest and/or Mystery by genre. I have a Masters in Writing (2006) and have been writing novels, both crime and fantasy for many years; plus Haiku, verse, and prose both fictional and literary. I am also an artist of modern, Acrylic, textural and hard edge work, underwater, fantasy, expressionist, and Cosmos paintings. I use mixed media (Acrylic, Watercolour, Pastels) in textural Monoprints, finding surprises to expose within each work. Having both an analytical and creative mind has meant that I have strong powers of observation, and the persistence required to follow computer problems through till I solve them. Of course I am not always successful, but am willing to ask for a little help in order to then unlock the main problem myself. My Troubleshooting Blog, 'Problems and Solutions', was the result of my tenacity.
This entry was posted in ADVENTURE, FANTASY, SCI-FI and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to NATURAL THREAT 1& 2

  1. Remy Oreck says:

    Hi Jud, I hope you can assist me with with yet another Ominous Shores glitch; My inventory trails off the right of the screen, so I am unable to select the necessary object needed because the inventory screen is filled with vials of smelling salts. Help! …and Thank You!

    • My first suggestion is that you go to Windows 7 Troubleshooting/reset to earlier version and see if it pops up in their problem games list. If it does follow the prompts and click on the game icon, test it to see if it sits better on the screen, and if so click Apply or Ok to reset the game permanently. Go to my Problems and Solutions blogs as there are fairly comprehensive detailed solutions given there – step by step ones. these include the slightly more annoying one of resetting your resolution prior to playing the game each time. Let me know how you get on.

  2. tina says:

    Stuck at guilded gargoyle in Nat Threat 1, got tons of guilded swords and a tape player, hint says gargoyle #2 is missing something, g#1 took a sword and half opened door. Is this a glitch? Am I stuck here? The hint circle just surrounds g#2…

    • Hi Tina, Hang in there – I’ll go an check for you, but it may take a little time as I have to go through game to that point again – it’s a shame that you can’t just scroll through games once completed. I will get back to you as soon as I can. Meanwhile check on BigFish Forum from the Natural Threat 1 sales page to see if someone has already posted the answer there. Also BigFish often have a Walkthrough for their games on the sale pages – you might be lucky there too. Let me know if you find the info so I can stop looking for it. 😀 Jud

    • Actually, from memory, I’m inclined to think that both Gargoyles needed swords. Try one of the swords from your Inventory on Gargoyle 2 – you may need to try in various areas on it until you find the HotSpot – some of these can be spot sensitive in these games – very frustrating I know. If there is an Activation Symbol (like a gear wheel) in your Cursor as you mouse-over the gargoyle then click the sword there as carefully as you can. Meanwhile I’ll run through the game as soon as I get a chance and let you know. Jud

    • i Tina, Sorry I just looked and realised that I hadn’t bought NATURAL THREAT 1, only NATTHREAT 2 – so I can’t actually replay it to help you. But I suggest to try the suggestions I made in my last 2 Replies. Jud

Leave a Reply

