TALES OF TERROR: CRIMSON DAWN


by DEEP SHADOWS; BIGFISH GAMES

SPOOKY MIRROR GAME

Play Modes:    Casual; Expert; Professional
HOGs:    Interactive Lists; Shapes; Replacements
Puzzles:    Good variety; brief instructions: frustrating
Collections:    None
Map:    None!
Game-play:    Story driven; confusing
Navigation:    Okay; Controls slack; back & forth nightmare

Graphics:    Colourful but dark and atmospheric
Player Participation:  Medium-High
Satisfaction Factor:    Okay; but relief also
Frustration Factors:   No Map so confusion; poor notes
Fair Play:    Okay, but dark blurry HOGs; some transparent
Tedium Factor:   Back & Forth is frustrating and tiring

A group of hooded, shadowy figures abduct your brother right before your eyes in Tales of Terror: Crimson Dawn! Your search for him leads you to a remote mansion plagued by a sinister secret. Can you unravel the mystery and rescue your brother from eternal darkness? Find out in this thrilling Hidden Object adventure game! (BigFish Sales Blurb)

Although I bought this game, I did have some doubts about doing so.  It began with the ‘Car Crash’ scenario, followed a predictable path, and became obvious at the outset that it would be frustrating.  There is no Map, which means you get need to rely on your memory for the locations of the tasks. This leads to much back and forth to check which sites are active, and surprisingly many of them are not reused once their tasks are complete – many only have one HOG in them.  But you check just the same and waste valuable time and tire yourself out.

There are only Hint and Notebook to assist you, and I found that, towards the end of the game, I had to click on Hint a lot to get the pathway to the next parts of the tasks.  In the HOGs you have interactive chains of Items, replacement Items and Shaped Items, but there are also transparent Items which I consider unnecessary and unfair tactics.  When you enter the Mirror World towards the end, you have to repeat many of the tasks but in opposite aspect, but at least you  know what to do and where to find things.

My feelings about this game, by the time I completed it, are that I wish I had refrained from buying it – it certainly isn’t a ‘Must Have’ game.  I suggest that if you want to you should play the free trial , then make your decision from that.  But bear in mind that anything that annoyed you during that time will compound on itself for the rest of the game.

Jud House   12/01/2014

* * * * *

About judsartwork

I write reviews of Adventure and Hidden Object games that are Crime, Fantasy, SciFi, Renovation, Travel, Quest and/or Mystery by genre. I have a Masters in Writing (2006) and have been writing novels, both crime and fantasy for many years; plus Haiku, verse, and prose both fictional and literary. I am also an artist of modern, Acrylic, textural and hard edge work, underwater, fantasy, expressionist, and Cosmos paintings. I use mixed media (Acrylic, Watercolour, Pastels) in textural Monoprints, finding surprises to expose within each work. Having both an analytical and creative mind has meant that I have strong powers of observation, and the persistence required to follow computer problems through till I solve them. Of course I am not always successful, but am willing to ask for a little help in order to then unlock the main problem myself. My Troubleshooting Blog, 'Problems and Solutions', was the result of my tenacity.
This entry was posted in FANTASY, SPOOKY GAMES and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

