1578: Games Journalism is Broken


SUPPORT YOUR GAME REVIEWERS!

Visit their sites. It’s amazing what you can learn from people like Pete Davison. Even when it’s not in your preferred genre, you can pick up surprising tips, and gain understanding of how Gaming and games work. Go to Pete’s blog site – I’m Not Dr Who at angryjedi .wordpress.com and see the variety of information he offers: Music, Game Terms Definitions, Gaming, Creative Writing and Personal. He has been such a help to me over the last few years since I began this site – and he lives in UK and I live in Australia.  There are no boundaries for Game Reviewers – physical, geographical, or technical.  Our main aim is to help and enlighten Gamers and prospective Gamers.

Jud House  18/05/2014

I'm Not Doctor Who

And I’m not going to fix it. I’m not sure anyone can.

I mention this amid the news that Future, one of the biggest publishing companies in the UK that has been around for as long as I can remember, is having severe difficulties. Difficulties that are serious enough to see it considering the closure of CVG (aka Computer and Video Games), one of the longest-running brands in the games press. Future’s woes aren’t solely to do with the games press side of its operation, of course — indeed, it is apparently intending to keep PC Gamer, Gamesradar and the new (somewhat redundant) Kotaku UK up and running regardless of what else happens — but the company’s situation, particularly with regard to the games press, is not at all unusual. I was let go from my position at USgamer recently, as you’ll know if you’ve been keeping up to date…

View original post 712 more words

About judsartwork

I write reviews of Adventure and Hidden Object games that are Crime, Fantasy, SciFi, Renovation, Travel, Quest and/or Mystery by genre. I have a Masters in Writing (2006) and have been writing novels, both crime and fantasy for many years; plus Haiku, verse, and prose both fictional and literary. I am also an artist of modern, Acrylic, textural and hard edge work, underwater, fantasy, expressionist, and Cosmos paintings. I use mixed media (Acrylic, Watercolour, Pastels) in textural Monoprints, finding surprises to expose within each work. Having both an analytical and creative mind has meant that I have strong powers of observation, and the persistence required to follow computer problems through till I solve them. Of course I am not always successful, but am willing to ask for a little help in order to then unlock the main problem myself. My Troubleshooting Blog, 'Problems and Solutions', was the result of my tenacity.
This entry was posted in ADVENTURE. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

