[Review] Myst (PC): The Canon for Adventure Gaming


This is a great blog about MYST. As I am yet to get to the promised Post of the game myself, this is worth a read. The MYST series is indeed the starting point of the Adventure/Hidden Object/Point & Click/Puzzle/SciFi/Fantasy games of today. Such a great series – I loved it, though I also spent much time wandering around trying to work out how to get to my next location. Use a NOTEBOOK rather than a few notes, coz you’ll need to make little drawings as well for codes and maps and mazes and runes and…and… Plus go to UHS Hints page – they do cool walkthroughs for all the MYST games that allow you to open little hints at a time so you can work it out yourself if you want to – or just open them all and go from there. I bought my copies in the 90’s. You will need to visit Troubleshooting in Windows 7 then go to Reset Game to Earlier Version – this helps iron out some of the difficulties of the revamped digital issue. Also ignore Quicktime’s nagging to update it – whenever you update Quicktime it overwrites its previous version making it unusable for earlier games. It is a huge problem for the earlier CSI games. Check my blog about this if you need more info – under Troubleshooting, Problems and Solutions, and CSI games. I warn you – once you start playing MYST, despite the fact that you will feel directionless, frustrated, on edge, annoyed (especially at the Navigation controls), you will be hooked. It’s a truly monumental series, and you will be glad you tried it. I will get on to my Post for this game asap.

Jud House  7/06/2014

* * * * *

Caught Me Gaming

Here it is, where modern adventure computer games began: Myst.

If you have never heard of it, here is the history lesson: it’s from 1993, and was the best-selling PC game after its release, until The Sims exceeded its sales in 2002. It was originally made for the Mac, and much later ported to practically everything else.

(Photo: maximum games)

I played Myst with the hubs last weekend; one of us on mouse, the other navigating (or, *ahem, checking a walkthrough…) Our work schedules recently changed which means these days we don’t see each other during the week. Luckily, with weekends off together, we can plan our moments. This past weekend we went thrift shopping and found not one, but TWO copies of Myst. We got home, and decided to load up the game – why not?

In the game you are a stranger who finds yourself with a book…

View original post 910 more words

About judsartwork

I write reviews of Adventure and Hidden Object games that are Crime, Fantasy, SciFi, Renovation, Travel, Quest and/or Mystery by genre. I have a Masters in Writing (2006) and have been writing novels, both crime and fantasy for many years; plus Haiku, verse, and prose both fictional and literary. I am also an artist of modern, Acrylic, textural and hard edge work, underwater, fantasy, expressionist, and Cosmos paintings. I use mixed media (Acrylic, Watercolour, Pastels) in textural Monoprints, finding surprises to expose within each work. Having both an analytical and creative mind has meant that I have strong powers of observation, and the persistence required to follow computer problems through till I solve them. Of course I am not always successful, but am willing to ask for a little help in order to then unlock the main problem myself. My Troubleshooting Blog, 'Problems and Solutions', was the result of my tenacity.
This entry was posted in ADVENTURE, FANTASY, JUD'S VIEWS & TROUBLESHOOTING, SCI-FI and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

