Pile of Shame


Check out this cool Blog site – below is my response to it that I thought I’d share with you..

http://angryjedi.wordpress.com/2014/10/16/1733-bumper-crop/

Yippeeee!!!! The strip is back 😀 I’ve done a little happy dance with excitement. Now I can stop nagging you about it. 😀

As for the Pile of Shame, mine is mostly on my desktop, but come to think of it I do have a box full of games as well – you know, one of those square boxes that fit into wall units to store your stuff in.

You said that’s okay as they can wait to be played and will always be there. But WILL they play when you go to do so? Some of mine are just too old to work without pixellated graphics and other minor glitches or major glitches as well. 😀 So we will both have to try to squeeze them all in asap.

There is another problem with the more recent older games sitting in the stand-by list, and that is that by the time you get round to playing them so you can review them, gamers have moved on to newer faster clearer and technically advanced games (as have you of course which is why they are still sitting there waiting) so the review becomes redundant, and you spend your playing time in high frustration, peering throught the gloom at the screen, grumbling about there being no interactive Map, tapping your fingers as you wait for the interim black between-scenes screen to get over itself, and generally wondering why you thought it was good enough to buy a month or year ago. And when you do play them you can’t be bothered finishing them and they sit on the desktop waiting … waiting … waiting ….

It’s reassuring to think that I am not alone in having a Pile of Shame cluttering up my Desktop and my shelves.  How many others are out there?

Jud House 17/10/2014

* * * * *

About judsartwork

I write reviews of Adventure and Hidden Object games that are Crime, Fantasy, SciFi, Renovation, Travel, Quest and/or Mystery by genre. I have a Masters in Writing (2006) and have been writing novels, both crime and fantasy for many years; plus Haiku, verse, and prose both fictional and literary. I am also an artist of modern, Acrylic, textural and hard edge work, underwater, fantasy, expressionist, and Cosmos paintings. I use mixed media (Acrylic, Watercolour, Pastels) in textural Monoprints, finding surprises to expose within each work. Having both an analytical and creative mind has meant that I have strong powers of observation, and the persistence required to follow computer problems through till I solve them. Of course I am not always successful, but am willing to ask for a little help in order to then unlock the main problem myself. My Troubleshooting Blog, 'Problems and Solutions', was the result of my tenacity.
This entry was posted in JUD'S VIEWS & TROUBLESHOOTING and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Pile of Shame

  1. Pete Davison says:

    In my case, most of them are console games and I still have working console hardware for that generation of software, so yes, they will work, fortunately. 🙂 The issue you’re describing is something unique to PC gaming, where you can theoretically have a compatible platform to play something on and still, you know, not be able to play it. There are usually ways around such issues, but sometimes they are more effort than they’re worth!

    The other issue you describe is just one of many reasons I’m glad I’m not reviewing things professionally any more. When you’re working on a commercial gaming site, there’s a pressure to pretty much only cover the latest and greatest. As we both know, I’m sure, a game doesn’t stop being interesting or relevant just because it was released a few months (or even years) ago — just as with any other creative medium. When you’re writing about things a bit more personally, you can afford to step back and look at older titles — and, more to the point, bring them to the attention of people who may have missed them first time around, particularly if they rely on commercial sites for their information. It can often be quite eye-opening to do so — especially if you find yourself playing something of a breed that we simply don’t get any more (see: my references to the Ace Combat series that I’ve been playing recently), or, at the other end of the spectrum, an example of a genre that has moved on considerably in the intervening years.

Leave a Reply

