MORTIMER BECKETT REVISITED


by PAPRIKARI; GAMEHOUSE; BIGFISH GAMES

I want to let you know that I’ve just completed and re-purchase and re-play of all four MORTIMER BECKETT games on my Windows 10 computer.  I have already covered quite comprehensively the way these games appear and play on Windows 7 – see https://judsgamereviews.wordpress.com/2011/05/14/mini-reviews-mortimer-beckett/, https://judsgamereviews.wordpress.com/2011/09/19/mini-reviews-mortimer-beckett-the-crimson-thief-premium-edition/  – but thought it was time to see if they’d been updated at all.  Recently, BigFish have been advertising them on the W10 sales page – if they aren’t compatible, I’ve noticed that older games don’t appear in W10 while doing so in W7 on the same day.  The older games are substituted with newer games.

Graphics:    So, playing the first two games, SPOOKY MANSION and TIME PARADOX, on W10, the Graphics are a little fuzzy, but definitely not too unclear, nor any more annoying than before.  I was surprised that both these games actually played on W10, but I put that down to the possibility that they’d been Up-dated.  Both games play without any extra problems than those already discussed in my previous reviews.  The Graphics for LOST KING are fine, clear as before in W7.  I think it is the best of the games in many ways.  And of course the 3D CG characters are much improved, and very enjoyable as are their Voices.  But the Graphics for the latest game, CRIMSON THIEF, are less clear in places, though the characters are still good.

Game-play:     However, my main concern is that the Game-play in the latter two games has a speed glitch.  The Cursor Arrow, instead of pulsing at it points at Items or Exit-points, flashes at an incredible rate.  When you click on an Item it snatches and flies in a flash to its destination, whether that is into the Inventory or from the Inventory to its needed position.  While this is a little disturbing, distracting and disorientating, it can be coped with.  It certainly speeds the game up!  Until you get to the Mini-Games/Puzzles.

Puzzles:   Some of these play okay – just.  In LOST KING, you are just settling down to this weird Game-play action, when you are faced with three Puzzles, in which there are no SKIPS:
the Nut Beneath the Cups  which goes so fast that you can’t see which cup to choose, though, as you need to tackle this later when the Nut glows, you can at least complete this game;
the (TIMED) Mirror where the clock has been sped up so that you don’t have time to find all the Differences between the multiple Mirror images, so that you just can’t complete it;
the Concentration Deck of Cards where they flash so quickly face-up face-down that you can barely discern any of them at all.  If you manage to pick one Ace, you certainly can’t pick the other to make the Pair so you can complete the game.

So you cannot proceed any further in the game.  At all!!

In CRIMSON THIEF, this isn’t quite so noticeable, and with some games there were Skip buttons.  There were a couple that required selecting Items in a specific order:
Hitting Items in a shown order that flashed faster for each of 3 levels;
Copying Karate Moves where you had to snatch a flash of image to try to match Mortimer’s moves with those of the Master;
Picture Swapping Jigsaws had completely pixelled Graphics where the image was a series of tiny coloured boxes within the small boxes you needed to swap around.

I did however manage to complete this game, but it wasn’t very enjoyable due to the annoyance and frustration of the poor Game-play.

HOPs:   These played normally except for the swift flashing as Items sped from place to place.

I did try to reset LOST KING by using W10 Troubleshooting program, which allows you to reset an older game back to its earlier version Windows program (hopefully).  But when I finally found a way in to this facility, in its list of programs that needed modifying, the only action it would allow any of the games was Uninstallation – eg it has Uninstall Mortimer Beckett as its title, instead of just Mortimer Beckett.  I tried it – it uninstalled the game from my computer (surprise, surprise), so I reinstalled the game, resumed Play and found the Glitch in the Puzzles was still there (as expected).  So no help there I’m afraid.  if I should resolve this, or if BigFish are able to access a Patch for the game I will let you know.

So, do I still recommend this Series?  Yes if you play it on Windows 7 or XP.  I didn’t try it on Windows 8, and I guess it should play on that somewhere between W7 and W10.  I find it strange that the first two games played through normally (for them) while the later two games played so haphazardly.  I thought the first two might not play on W10 at all.

It’s up to you.  But I don’t recommend you buy them for W10.  If you play the Free Trial, make sure you do so till the end of the trial so you can see what I mean about the Puzzles.

 Jud House 6/8/2016

* * * * *

About judsartwork

I write reviews of Adventure and Hidden Object games that are Crime, Fantasy, SciFi, Renovation, Travel, Quest and/or Mystery by genre. I have a Masters in Writing (2006) and have been writing novels, both crime and fantasy for many years; plus Haiku, verse, and prose both fictional and literary. I am also an artist of modern, Acrylic, textural and hard edge work, underwater, fantasy, expressionist, and Cosmos paintings. I use mixed media (Acrylic, Watercolour, Pastels) in textural Monoprints, finding surprises to expose within each work. Having both an analytical and creative mind has meant that I have strong powers of observation, and the persistence required to follow computer problems through till I solve them. Of course I am not always successful, but am willing to ask for a little help in order to then unlock the main problem myself. My Troubleshooting Blog, 'Problems and Solutions', was the result of my tenacity.
This entry was posted in ADVENTURE, JUD'S VIEWS & TROUBLESHOOTING, SPOOKY GAMES, TROUBLESHOOTING PC GAMES, UPDATE and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to MORTIMER BECKETT REVISITED

  1. Brenda says:

    I recently re-downloaded MB and the Lost King on my laptop. I use W10. When I got to the end of the game R. Castle, and retrieved the last item, it completed locked me out of the game! It said I had ‘completed’ the castle section, yet I still had the ‘crown’ and the ‘black feather’ . . .items that needed to be placed. Is this the result of Win10? Even when I closed the game and opened it back up, it would not let me end the game satisfactorily.

    • judsartwork says:

      Yes I recall that did that to me as well Brenda. It is certainly a W10 thing. And Windows no longer has the Troubleshooting/reset to lower version any more – well it’s there sort-of, but when you click on the game you want to ‘set back to W7’ it only allows you to uninstall it! Very frustrating. You need to stick with Mortimer on W7 – possibly W8 though I didn’t try on that before updating it to W10. W 10 seems better for a lot of things and more logical and user-friendly than W8 was, but it doesn’t do much for games – it’s like they forgot that element. Try resetting you game but if it comes up Uninstall – don’t do it. Have you a spare older computer? Then if so, redownload MB on that at W7 level or W8 (possibly). And please let me know how you get on. Jud

Leave a Reply

